Staveley is a pretty Lake District village, surrounded by rolling countryside interspersed with valleys, woods and drystone walls.
The bustling village nestles at the foot of the secluded Kentmere Valley. Its history is shaped by two rivers: the fast-flowing river Kent and the smaller river Gowan. This abundant supply of water once powered 8 mills.
Today, Staveley Mill Yard, the former bobbin/wood mill, is home to over 20 small enterprises and workshops including the UK’s largest cycle store, a unique cookery school, Hawkshead Brewery, an ice-cream parlour, artisan bread maker and the famous walkers’ café, Wilfs.
Staveley is a handy centre for walkers, with easy access to the fells, particularly the Kentmere Horseshoe. Craggy Wood, Longsleddle Woods, and Spring Hag are all within easy walking distance, while a 15 minute steep walk up Reston Scar provides spectacular views over the South Lakes. Nearby Dorothy Farrer's Spring Wood is a nature reserve. In the past, the wood produced timber for bobbins, charcoal and basket making. Today, the wood is still coppiced, but managed for wildlife conservation instead.
While there is no longer any bobbin production in Staveley, there is a carpentry business in the village. Peter Hall & Son’s furniture workshop and showroom specialises in high-quality, bespoke furniture, using traditional skills and locally sourced wood. Visitors are able to see all stages of the furniture-making process, all performed by skilled craftsmen.
In August of every year, residents put on an art exhibition for regional artists at the distinctive Roundhouse Theatre.
Staveley Carnival takes place every two years and consists of a weekend of colourful celebrations where you can experience everything from music and dance through to community arts music and a carnival atmosphere. Everyone is welcome to visit and get involved.
Staveley... Did you know?
The Roundhouse Theatre has only existed in its current form since 1990. The building was erected in 1862 and was originally used as a gas holder.
The mills at Staveley date back to 1341. At its high point, the wood mill employed around 200 workers.
Excavations uncovered two Viking boats in Kentmere Tarn; one of which is in Kendal Museum, the other in the National Maritime Museum in London.
St James Church has a magnificent stained glass window depicting the crucifixion and ascension of Jesus. Of the original church, only the 15th century tower remains, along with a medieval font.
Find out more about Staveley
|Official Tourist Board Guide to Staveley||Staveley with Ings Parish Council Website|
|What's On in Staveley?||Staveley Carnival|